REM Albums

R.E.M. Live
R.E.M Live is available at

R.E.M. albums represent the work of a popular rock band whose work has spanned three decades. R.E.M., composed of Michael Stipe, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Bill Berry, emerged from the college radio circuit in Athens, Georgia in the 1980s, a period when college radio was becoming a powerful player in the music scene. Radio Free Europe, R.E.M.'s first single, which was originally released on the Hib-Tones label but re-recorded for the debut R.E.M. album Murmur, is considered by many to be one of the first songs in the burgeoning 80s "alternative rock" scene. In fact, R.E.M. is credited as being both the band that breathed vitality into college radio in the 80s and also as the band that brought alternative rock out from the college radio underground and into the mainstream, with the success of the single The One I Love from their album Document.

R.E.M. Discography


R.E.M.'s debut album, Murmur, was released in 1983.

Track Listing:

  • "Radio Free Europe"
  • "Pilgrimage"
  • "Laughing"
  • "Talk About The Passion"
  • "Moral Kiosk"
  • "Perfect Circle"
  • "Catapult"
  • "Sitting Still"
  • "9-9"
  • "Shaking Through"
  • "We Walk"
  • "West Of The Fields"


Reckoning was released in 1984.

Track Listing:

  • "Harborcoat"
  • "7 Chinese Bros."
  • "So. Central Rain"
  • "Pretty Pursuasion"
  • "Time After Time (Annelise)"
  • "Second Guessing"
  • "Letter Never Sent"
  • "Camera"
  • "(Don't Go Back To) Rockville"
  • "Little America"

Fables of the Reconstruction

Fables of the Reconstruction was released in 1985.

Track Listing:

  • "Feeling Gravity's Pull"
  • "Maps And Legends"
  • "Driver 8"
  • "Life And How To Live It"
  • "Old Man Kensey"
  • "Can't Get There From Here"
  • "Green Grow The Rushes"
  • "Kohoutek"
  • "Auctioneer (Another Engine)"
  • "Good Advices"
  • "Wendell Gee"

Lifes Rich Pageant

Lifes Rich Pageant was released in 1986.

Track Listing:

  • "Begin The Begin"
  • "These Days"
  • "Fall On Me"
  • "Cuyahoga"
  • "Hyena"
  • "Underneath The Bunker"
  • "The Flowers Of Guatemala"
  • "I Believe"
  • "What If We Give It Away?"
  • "Just A Touch"
  • "Swan Swan H"
  • "Superman"


Considered R.E.M.'s breakthrough album, Document was released in 1987.

Track Listing:

  • "Finest Worksong"
  • "Welcome To The Occupation"
  • "Exhuming McCarthy"
  • "Disturbance At The Heron House"
  • "Strange"
  • "It's The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)"
  • "The One I Love"
  • "Fireplace"
  • "Lightnin' Hopkins"
  • "King Of Birds"
  • "Oddfellows Local 151"


Green was released in 1988.

Track Listing:

  • "Pop Song 89"
  • "Get Up"
  • "You Are The Everything"
  • "Stand"
  • "World Leader Pretend"
  • "The Wrong Child"
  • "Orange Crush"
  • "Turn You Inside-Out"
  • "Hairshirt"
  • "I Remember California"
  • Untitled bonus track

Out of Time

Out of Time was released in 1991.

Track Listing:

  • "Radio Song"
  • "Losing My Religion"
  • "Low"
  • "Near Wild Heaven"
  • "Endgame"
  • "Shiny Happy People"
  • "Belong"
  • "Half A World Away"
  • "Texarkana"
  • "Country Feedback"
  • "Me In Honey"

Automatic for the People

Automatic for the People was released in 1992.

Track Listing:

  • "Drive"
  • "Try Not To Breathe"
  • "The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite"
  • "Everybody Hurts"
  • "New Orleans Instrumental No.1"
  • "Sweetness Follows"
  • "Monty Got A Raw Deal"
  • "Ignoreland"
  • "Star Me Kitten"
  • "Man On The Moon"
  • "Nightswimming"
  • "Find The River"


Monster was released in 1994.

Track Listing:

  • "What's The Frequency, Kenneth?"
  • "Crush With Eyeliner"
  • "King Of Comedy"
  • "I Don't Sleep, I Dream"
  • "Star 69"
  • "Strange Currencies"
  • "Tongue"
  • "Bang And Blame"
  • "I Took Your Name"
  • "Let Me In"
  • "Circus Envy"
  • "You"

New Adventures in Hi-Fi

New Adventures in Hi-Fi was released in 1996.

Track Listing:

  • "How The West Was Won And Where It Got Us"
  • "The Wake-Up Bomb"
  • "New Test Leper"
  • "Undertow"
  • "E-Bow The Letter"
  • "Leave"
  • "Departure"
  • "Bittersweet Me"
  • "Be Mine"
  • "Binky The Doormat"
  • "Zither"
  • "So Fast, So Numb"
  • "Low Desert"
  • "Electrolite"


Up was released in 1998.

Track Listing:

  • "Airportman"
  • "Lotus"
  • "Suspicion"
  • "Hope"
  • "At My Most Beautiful"
  • "The Apologist"
  • "Sad Professor"
  • "You're In The Air"
  • "Walk Unafraid"
  • "Why Not Smile"
  • "Daysleeper"
  • "Diminished"
  • "Parakeet"
  • "Falls To Climb"


Reveal was released in 2001.

Track Listing:

  • "The Lifting"
  • "I've Been High"
  • "All the Way to Reno (You're Gonna be a Star)"
  • "She Just Wants To Be"
  • "Disappear"
  • "Saturn Return"
  • "Beat a Drum"
  • "Imitation Of Life"
  • "Summer Turns To High"
  • "Chorus & The Ring"
  • "I'll Take The Rain"
  • "Beachball"

Around the Sun

Around the Sun was released in 2004.

Track Listing:

  • "Leaving New York"
  • "Electron Blue"
  • "The Outsiders"
  • "Make It All Okay"
  • "Final Straw"
  • "I Wanted to Be Wrong"
  • "Wander Lust"
  • "The Boy in the Well"
  • "Aftermath"
  • "High Speed Train"
  • "Worst Joke Ever"
  • "The Ascent of Man"
  • "Around the Sun"

R.E.M. Live

R.E.M. Live was recorded during a 2005 Dublin performance and released in 2007, the band's first live album.

Track Listing:

Disc 1

  • "I Took Your Name"
  • "So Fast, So Numb"
  • "Boy In The Well"
  • "Cuyahoga"
  • "Everybody Hurts"
  • "Electron Blue"
  • "Bad Day"
  • "The Ascent Of Man"
  • "The Great Beyond"
  • "Leaving New York"
  • "Orange Crush"
  • "I Wanted To Be Wrong"
  • "Final Straw"
  • "Imitation Of Life"
  • "The One I Love"
  • "Walk Unafraid"
  • "Losing My Religion"

Disc 2

  • "What's The Frequency, Kenneth?"
  • "Drive"
  • " (Don't Go Back To) Rockville"
  • "I'm Gonna DJ"
  • "Man On The Moon"

This collection also includes a DVD of the live performance.

Greatest Hits Albums

If you're looking for a "greatest hits" listening experience, there are several R.E.M. albums that are collections of their earlier work:

A Band for the Masses

Many of R.E.M.'s fellow college radio contemporaries rode the band's coat tails into the mainstream (much to the chagrin of some music fans, who felt that mainstream success of alternative rock made it not quite so alternative anymore). Through it all, however, R.E.M. has achieved that rare kind of musical success - mass popularity and critical acclaim. The continued popularity of the entire back catalog of R.E.M. albums is a testament to the groundbreaking nature of this band.

Was this page useful?
REM Albums